The heartbreaks, the wins: Bayern Munich’s Champions League finals

When the Champions League anthem sounds at the Estádio da Luz on Sunday night, it will be an all-familiar feeling for Bayern Munich.

The Germans will be featuring in their 11th final (including the European Cup), and their fifth since the competition was renamed in 1992.

The same cannot be said of Paris Saint-Germain though, who will be playing their first Champions League final.

The Bavarians have enjoyed two wins and tasted three defeats since the renaming of the competition, and we take a look.

2013 win against Borussia Dortmund 

Jupp Heynckes led the Bavarians to a treble in 2013 and it was a the Wembley victory that stood out, interestingly, against their rivals, whom they had beaten to the Bundesliga title.

Mario Mandžukić opened the scoring for Hyenckes’ men before Ilkay Gundogan levelled from the spot. Arjen Robben though ensured they left England with the title and bury the ghosts of the previous season when they lost at the Allianz Arena to Chelsea.

2012 – Allianz Arena Heartbreak 

No team has ever won the Champions League at their home ground, and Bayern could not do it in 2012 when they played Chelsea.

The Germans controlled the match from start to finish, but could not get their hands on the title. Thomas Muller had given them the lead with less than 10 minutes of regulation time on the clock, but Didier Drogba scored on the 88th minute to take the match into extra time.

Bayern were unlucky with Robben even missing a penalty and in the end, Drogba scored the winning kick as the Blues won their first Champions League title.

2010 – Outclassed by Mourinho’s Inter

Madrid was the centre of what could turn out to be an entertaining clash as Bayern chased a treble having won Bundesliga and the DFB Cup.

Despite dominating the match, Mourinho’s side eventually won thanks to the brilliance of Diego Milito, who grabbed a brace with a goal in each half, serving Louis  Van Gaal’s side a painful defeat.

2001 – Back to European heaven

The Bavarians won the title after a penalty shoot-out against Spanish side Valencia, in yet another exciting match.

Oliver Kahn was the hero on the day as he dived the right way to deny Mauricio Pellegrino in what was a decisive kick.

The German, who won ‘World’s Best Goalkeeper’ title thrice burst into an unforgettable celebratory run.

1999 – The most heart-wrenching defeats

One of the most documented Champions League final. It was meant to be a glorious night in Barcelona for Bayern, especially after taking a sixth-minute lead thanks to Mario Basler’s strike from a free-kick.

The tables however turned deep, deep into injury time as Teddy Sheringham pulled United level after converting from a Ryan Giggs ball, before Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, current manager scored with the last attack of the night as the whistle sounded a few seconds later.

Bayern suffered a terrible defeat as Man United completed a treble.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© Copyright 2020, All Rights Reserved | ❤️